Libraries, Schools, and More Books!

It’s been a while – I mean a LONG while – since I last blogged. It’s nothing you’ve done, though. It’s not you; it’s me. Sometimes things fall by the side of the road and it’s a while before you notice you dropped it and then . . . well, it’s too late to go back and pick it up.

Except I have come back to pick it up. Finally.

The last time I was here, it was to say that Boy X was about to be published. Well now it has been published and I’ve been zooming about visiting schools and talking to lots of brilliant young readers about Ash McCarthy’s jungle adventures and about some of my own jungle adventures too.

I always have a little nervous anticipation when I visit schools because I want my visits to be fun and interesting and inspiring for the students, but I always come away feeling uplifted – and I am always amazed at the energy and excitement of young readers. I go to schools in the hope of inspiring young readers, and find that they inspire me.

 

Oh, and the school librarians I meet – the brilliant people who  spend time organising and preparing for the visit – are always SO welcoming. Their love of story in all its forms, from books to comics to films, gives us so much to talk about and share, and they do so much to inspire a love of story in the students who pass through their libraries. It’s always a pleasure to meet them and spend time with them. School libraries and the librarians who run them are essential to the development and the opening of young minds. For many young students, their librarian is the only contact with the boundless world of story – and story is what broadens our minds, helps us to think more creatively, and teaches us about the world.

In April, I was lucky enough to be invited to the School Librarians Group (SLG) Conference and it was inspiring to see the level of commitment and passion held by school librarians despite the huge pressure they now find themselves under.

Every school should have a library and a librarian. Right now.

Okay, so that’s my rant over, and now there’s just enough time to tell you my other piece of news – I’ve signed to write two more books for Chicken House! Working with such an energetic and exciting publisher has been fantastic, so I’m very much looking forward to continuing working with them on my next novels. There will be more action, more adventure, and more mystery!

See you soon – and I promise it won’t be so long next time!

That’s all.

 

Leave a Reply

