A Minor Nuisance

For some time now, Amazon has been linking my soon-to-be published book BIG GAME to a Deep Space Nine novel with a similar title – The Big Game.

Anybody wishing to ‘look inside’ my book would have been, in fact, looking inside a totally different book – one that was published 14 years ago and retails on Amazon for the low price of 1 penny.

My BIG GAME is about a young Finnish boy who undergoes a rite of passage in which he is sent into the wilderness to hunt and prove himself to be a man. Things don’t go as planned for him, and he winds up in the middle of a terrorist plot to hunt and kill the President of the USA. The book is based on the upcoming film starring Samuel L Jackson.

The Deep Space Nine book, The Big Game, is not about this. In fact, there are no Finnish boys in it at all as far as I know. Not even a President of the USA. No, no. According to the blurb it is about something completely different; a poker game at Quark’s. I can’t tell you what ‘Quark’s’ is, though. I can only guess that it’s a place where people can play poker. A bar, perhaps. And when I say ‘people’ I use the term in a loose manner. Apparently, Klingons, Romulans, Vulcans, Ferengi and Cardassians are involved. No Kardashians, though, as far as I can make out.

I can confirm, however, that none of these races appear in my novel BIG GAME. All of the characters are plain old human beings. Which is no bad thing, seeing as it’s set right here on earth.

Finland, to be exact.

This trifling business has been something of a minor nuisance, and if I had to speak about it on Samuel L Jackson’s behalf, I feel sure I know the two words he would have used. Or is that just one word? Well, it’s two words joined to make one, so . . .

Anyway, all this has now changed. After months of pestering, the fantastic people at Chicken House have managed to persuade Amazon to detach whatever data has been linking the two books.

Quark’s poker game has been jettisoned into deep space, and BIG GAME is now BIG GAME. All is as it should be.

Apologies for any confusion caused by this rather unfortunate series of events.

So, for now, I will leave you with this demanding ‘spot the difference’ puzzle for you to enjoy over the Christmas break.

 

Spot the difference . . .

Spot the difference . . .

 

That’s all.

 

Leave a Reply

