Scottish Children’s Book Award

Earlier this year I was honoured to be asked to join the shortlisting panel for the Scottish Children’s Book Awards. Well, who knew there would be so many books to read?!

There were almost thirty books spanning two categories (8-11 and 12-16) and the competition was intense. For me, it was an excellent excuse to spend lots of time reading so many great stories. And after several weeks, the shortlisting panel met in Edinburgh for what I thought might be a heated debate, but in the end everyone was pretty much unanimous in their decision.

The shortlisted books are:


Age 8-11

Screen Shot 2014-09-04 at 09.59.03

Precious and the Mystery of the Missing Lion – Alexander McCall Smith

Pyrate’s Boy – E B Colin

Attack of the Giant Robot Chickens – Alex McCall



Age 12-16

Screen Shot 2014-09-04 at 09.59.18

Mosi’s War – Cathy MacPhail

Dark Spell – Gill Arbuthnott

The Wall – William Sutcliffe


Well done and good luck to all those shortlisted authors!

There’s more detail about the award on the Scottish Book Trust Website.


That’s all.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s