Secrets, Games, and The Darkest Heart

Busy times . . .

Page proofs for THE DARKEST HEART have just arrived, which is always a nervy time – the last chance to make minor changes before it goes off to be typeset and, well, made ready to be put into its cover – which is looking great, by the way. My brilliant editor at Orion is expertly overseeing everything in preparation for publication. I’d love to share the cover with you but it’s not quite ready so . . . oh, maybe a little tease . . . just a quick glimpse of a small part, eh?

Screen Shot 2014-02-20 at 14.59.35

 

Nope. Sorry. That’s all you can see for now.

Over in the world of younger readers, page proofs for MY BROTHER’S SECRET are now done and dusted, with just a few minor adjustments – which means everything is on course for publication. As usual, all the chickens over at Chicken House are doing a fantastic job of getting everything ready for that.

The manuscript for BIG GAME is looking good and . . . well, I say ‘looking good’ but that means I’ve come to a point where I’m happy with it, my children have read and enjoyed it, and it’s now gone to my agent. Of course, this doesn’t mean my agent will be happy with it. She will cast a (hyper)critical eye over it, and then we’ll see, eh? Best not to relax just yet. If I do that, I’ll only end up regretting it.

On the subject of BIG GAME, I’ve also seen preliminary art work for that cover and it’s looking fantastic. Very striking and exciting. I can’t wait to share all these things!! In the run up to World Book Day, I’ve got a number of school visits organised, so I might be able to share a few things with the audiences there, but everyone else will have to wait a little while longer.

Here’s something I can share, though – a brief video of me reading a little preview from MY BROTHER’S SECRET. I can’t help cringing when I see myself on film, but that’s no reflection on Gulliver Moore’s directing and camera expertise; he’s done a great job.

 

 

 

That’s all.

Leave a Reply

