It’s ALL Good!

My Brothers Secret Stg 2cWell, MY BROTHER’S SECRET isn’t due out until May, but there have been one or two review copies circulating since the Chicken House Big Breakfast in London a couple of weeks ago.  I’ve had some great responses so far, but this one has just worked its way to the top of my Favourite Pile.

Nadia, who is in year 6, has just finished reading it and this is what she had to say:

“It’s really gripping. It’s literally unputdownable. My Dad was like ‘Go to SLEEP’ but I just couldn’t.

Everything about it is brilliant. My favourite character is Stefan, Karl’s brother. Cos he is really brave and he sticks up for Karl. It’s such a good plot. It’s intense and you can’t wait to find out what happens next. I like the ending too. It’s ALL good.”

Thanks, Nadia, it’s always such a pleasure to read reviews of my books for younger readers when they actually come from younger readers – you are, after all, the ones who count.

MFTE-500x754Oh, and in other news, I found out last week that MY FRIEND THE ENEMY has been longlisted for the Branford Boase Award, which is fantastic. Of course, my agent brought me down to earth with ‘well, it’s only a longlisting, Dan,’ but, you know what? It’s a longlisting!

Oh, and there might be some more happy news soon . . .

 

That’s all.

2 thoughts on “It’s ALL Good!

  1. I can’t wait to read MY BROTHER’S SECRET! And congratulations again on your longlisting. OK, so it’s “only a long listing”… but for the Branford Boase?! Definitely worth celebrating. 😀

Leave a Reply

