School’s Out!

Publication day is always a funny one. I mean; nothing really changes. Your book is out there, of course, ready for the world to see, but everything else is exactly as it was.

This is something that can sometimes leave debut authors feeling a little flat. After all the build-up and excitement of seeing your book in print, maybe having a launch, and then . . . well, and then you get on with writing the next one and hope that people will like what you’ve done.

And that’s how it usually goes.

My Friend The Enemy has been a little different, though. This feels like it’s had something of a fanfare, at least. With the super-organisation of the fantastic team at Chicken House, and the support of my brilliant publicist, I’ve been quite busy promoting the book. There have been some excellent reviews, I’ve been on BBC radio Newcastle talking about my books, I was live on Lionheart Radio ‘School’s Out’ show yesterday, and I’ve been lucky enough to do some great school visits.

IMG_0794Needless to say, the first time I was faced with 200 year 7 and 8 children, I paled at the thought of keeping them entertained for an hour but, you know what? They were great – not nearly as scary as they look! And there’s the added bonus for them of missing lessons to come and listen to me.

There’s nothing better than seeing so many people excited at the prospect of reading my book and having them crowd round after the session, asking questions about being an author.

Oh yeah, and the organiser from one visit tweeted to let me know that a year 7 student described it as ‘the best day ever in school’!

So, here’s a MASSIVE thanks for the warm welcome at Churchill Community College and Cramlington Learning Village. Both schools were fantastic!

I have some more visits lined up for next week, some for the beginning of next term and there’ll be the Durham Book festival in October and  . . . phew. It’s great to be busy.

So My Friend The Enemy is out there and now there are just another two weeks to go before we see Red Winter hit the shelves.

Two books published in such close succession . . . that’s pretty awesome, right?

 

That’s all.

2 thoughts on “School’s Out!

Leave a Reply

