A New Face for My Friend The Enemy

The fantastic team at Chicken House has been busy spreading the word about My Friend The Enemy and receiving a great response, which is very exciting! The book now has the backing of some big booksellers and clubs which will give a dash of that elusive support we authors crave for our books.

Anyway, one of the results of this is that there have been a few tweaks to the cover design. It still has similar imagery but the tone has been changed slightly.

The downside is that my good friend Graeme has just printed a pile of promotional postcards for me . . . but, y’know what? I think it’ll make the postcards more special. They’ll be a kind of limited edition. Which is good, right?

The upside is that it still looks great and it’ll really stand out – which is important.

‘Never judge a book by the cover’ is what we’re supposed to believe, but life doesn’t work that way. A cover has to appeal to the reader; it has to draw the eye, capture the imagination, tell the reader something about what they might expect to find between those beautifully printed covers. And that, I think, is what this new design does just as well as the previous design. Maybe even better.

So, here it is . . . .

My Friend the Enemy cover art

 Oh, and there’s still a little while until publication date – 4th July – but if you mooch on over to Goodreads, you can enter  the giveaway and, you never know, you might win a signed copy.

That’s all.

Goodreads Book Giveaway

My Friend the Enemy by Dan  Smith

My Friend the Enemy

by Dan Smith

Giveaway ends July 04, 2013.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter to win

6 thoughts on “A New Face for My Friend The Enemy

  1. The new cover is good…not much different to the original but definitely like the boy looking straight out of the cover instead of up at the sky. Feels like he is looking right at you.

    And can I have a limited edition postcard, please?? #antiqueofthefuture

  2. The old cover was lovely, but this one does grab me more. I had a similar thing with Buttercup Magic – I had a handful of the original cover design which I send out to readers sometimes who haven’t been able to get to events, etc. They are a tad ‘special’ so your postcards will be too. Can’t wait to see it in the shops! Loads of luck with it.

Leave a Reply

