Books! Books! Books! (And a hamster)

Well, look what arrived in the post today!

 

IMG_0366

 

Yes, indeed . . . some very fine looking book proofs for my children’s novel which is due to be published by Chicken House in July. My Friend The Enemy is my first book for children but it won’t be my last. You’re the first to know that I’ve just signed with Chicken House for another two books! They’re a great publisher and I’ve enjoyed working with them, so I’m very excited to know that they’ll be publishing my next two children’s novels.

Oh, and wait till you see all the lovely graphical touches they’ve added to My Friend The Enemy. I can’t wait for you all to read it.

In news from the other side of my writing life, the clever people at Orion have been putting together a fantastic design for my new novel Red Winter, which is also due out in July. So, in another exclusive just for you, here is a sneak peek at the cover!

 

Red Winter

 

Great, isn’t it? Full of menace and foreboding – just like the contents. I’m expecting page proofs any day soon, so this one’s gathering momentum and I’m gearing up for a busy July. I can’t wait.

And, as if that isn’t enough excitement for me to be passing on to you . . . here’s a cute picture of my children’s hamster, Smifette.

 

IMG_0349

 

Now, don’t ever say I don’t treat you.

 

That’s all.

6 thoughts on “Books! Books! Books! (And a hamster)

  1. WOW!!!! Blimey, Dan, how exciting. I seriously can’t wait to read Mr Friend the Enemy and will definitely be buying a copy, which, of course, I shall expect you to sign at some point! The cover for Red Winter looks fab too! As for Smifette…. awwwwwwwww!

    • I know, she’s quite cute. She gets a bit pongy after a week, but, well, she’s not MY hamster so I don’t officially have to clean her out. And as for My Friend the Enemy – you’re going to love it!

  2. Looking forward to both new books in July. As for Smifette, she looks like she’s on tenterhooks as well! Have you promised to give her a set of proofs to shred for her bed?

Leave a Reply

