Irresistible Charms

Right then, I’m fifteen thousand words into the new novel (give or take) and things seem to be going pretty well, though it’s hard to be sure.

Y’see, starting a new book is always a mixed affair for me – a great big helping of excitement with an equal measure of nervousness stirred in. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not a detailed planner when it comes to writing . . . well, actually, I’m not a detailed planner when it comes to anything, as my wife would happily shout from the rooftops . . . so I’m never quite sure how it’s going to turn out.

I don’t do much editing as I go along. I disappear into Danworld and try to let the story flow, writing every day, inserting notes for things that need to be addressed/researched later, and keep going until it’s done.

Then I go back and look over it.

And that’s the point when I get the ‘Wow, did I write that?’ or ‘Oh no, did I write that? What was I thinking?’ feelings and have to put it all right.

In that sense, I suppose the first draft of one of my novels is just a very detailed plan. So maybe I am a planner after all.

Who knows?

In the meantime, there has been a softening in the Smith household. I mentioned in my last post that Smiffy the hamster was a new addition here, despite my wife’s protests at having a ‘smelly little rodent’ in our home . . . well, guess what?

Yup. His cuteness is, apparently, undeniable.

Irresistible.

And I’ve caught my wife talking to him.

Many times.

In fact, she can hardly pass his cage without a quick look to see if he’s awake.

 

Ham

Ze laydeez – zey cannot rezist me.

 

That’s all.

2 thoughts on “Irresistible Charms

Leave a Reply

