Curse You, Self-Doubt!!

Finishing a book is always an odd time for me. And I’m talking about writing one, not reading one. Y’see, I don’t show it to anybody while I’m working on it, so I’m never quite sure what the reaction to it will be. Sure, I might discuss a few ideas with my wife, but that’s all, so when it’s finished it’s . . . unseen. And there’s always that niggle of doubt. Curse you, self-doubt!

I don’t push the manuscript to one side and think, ‘Right, that’s the next masterpiece written, what shall I do to change the world today?’ No, it’s more of a tentative handover to my wife, slightly cringing, hoping that she’s going to like it.

And that is the first airing. The first test.

Usually it comes back with a few suggestions, but nothing too major. Because the real test is yet to come.

If you’ve read my blog before, you’ll know I have a no-nonsense-tell-it-how-it-is agent and that she is the real test. Because if there’s even the slightest thing wrong with the manuscript, she will be sure to let me know. No sugar coating. No niceties. No beating about the bush.

So it is with great relief that I can tell you she loved the new book, describing it with words like ‘exciting’, ‘strong’ and ‘intense’. Oh and the twists all took her by surprise.

And this is great news for me. I wrote this book in a very short time after a long talk with my publisher about producing a new novel to slot in between The Child Thief and God and The Devil (which is already written and was originally due in 2013 but will now come in 2014). This new novel is the perfect companion to The Child Thief and will whisk you back to Eastern Europe – Russia this time – and drop you right into a land stricken by civil war where you will join the main character in his search to discover what has happened to . . . and why . . . and who . . . no, sorry, I just can’t tell you any more.

So there it is. The new book is gathering momentum and my excitement levels are growing as the heads of approval begin to nod. We writers are such fickle devils, you see, that we thrive on acceptance and praise.

Oh, and in the meantime, The Child Thief is getting some great coverage over in New Zealand which is fantastic. Reviews, interviews and giveaways have appeared in ten different publications – from the New Zealand Herald to The South Taranaki Star and The Northern Advocate, The Bay of Plenty Times, The Wairarapa Times and the Wanganui Chronicle.

Awesome names.

 

That’s all.

9 thoughts on “Curse You, Self-Doubt!!

  1. Congratulations, Dan! So pleased that C likes the book – her seal of approval means a LOT. My husband beta-reads as I go along, and he’s always honest about what works and what doesn’t, but… he’s my husband, so he’s going to err on the side of being nice, right? 😉 Can’t wait to hear more about the new book.

    (And I guess this means I’ll be hearing about my WIP soon, right? Eep.)

  2. Exactly – friends and family can be slightly objective but they’re always going to find something good to say. C, on the other hand . . . Anyway, as you say, it means a lot. And yes, I imagine you’ll be hearing soon too! It’ll be fantastic, I’m sure of it.

  3. I can’t tell you how many people I’ve recommended The Child Thief to. Can’t wait for the next one. Are you planning any publishing tours to New Zealand? You’d get a terrific reception here.

    • Hi Catherine and thanks for the big vote of confidence. I’m glad you enjoyed The Child Thief so much – it’s always great to hear from someone who’s liked my books. I don’t have any plans for a tour in NZ at the moment, but you never know . . . I haven’t visited before but have always wanted to. Thanks for getting in touch and for recommending The Child Thief to so many people!

  4. Have just finished my 6th novel in a series – like you no one sees the book while I’m writing, and then comes the breathless panic as I hand it over to my other half (Action Man). If it passes then I fire it off to my editor and publishers. That’s when the real panic sets in. 🙂 So far so good!

    Fun isn’t it? 😉

Leave a Reply

