Groundhogs, Feral Children and Danworld

Oh, so that’s what a groundh . . . nope, still got no idea what it is.

Forgive me. It has been a long time since my last blogpost and I  . . . well, actually, it’s been mad. I feel like a pit pony coming out of the dark and seeing daylight for the first time in months. Or a groundhog checking to see if there’s more winter to come. Or. . . or some other kind of animal that’s been away for a long time. Except I haven’t been underground, I’ve been in Danworld. And what the hell is a groundhog, anyway?

Y’see, for reasons I won’t go in to (mainly because it’s too long and convoluted to be interesting), my publisher asked me to write a follow up to THE CHILD THIEF which could be published in 2013 instead of the book that was due (that’ll be published 2014 instead).

That, of course, is fantastic because it means that by 2014, there will be 5 Dan Smith novels on the shelf. (Actually, there’ll be more than that because there’s a children’s book coming too, but that’s for another blog post.) Only thing is, though, they wanted it by the end of September.

September.

That’s . . . five months.

So I have been living in Danworld since then. And it didn’t help that those five months included the

How my children look after I’ve finished writing a novel.

summer holiday, meaning that my children were at home being neglected and forced to run feral in the streets, but . . . well, it’s done. All done. And it really feels like an achievement.

So now I have emerged from Danworld and passed the manuscript over to my wife for that first opinion. In fact, she’s sitting on the sofa beside me now, reading it on the kindle, and I can’t help looking over every now and then to make sure she’s making the all the right expressions at all the right times.

She is.

And you know what? I think you’re going to like this one, too.

I think you’ll like it a lot.

 

That’s all.

 

p.s – no children were really allowed to run feral in the writing of this novel. They were given much love and care. Of course. And yes, I do know what a groundhog is . . . it’s the same thing as a whistle-pig, whatever the hell that is.

4 thoughts on “Groundhogs, Feral Children and Danworld

  1. Yay! That’s brilliant news and good on ya for getting it done in 5 months! To be honest, I thought all kids looked like the one in the pic… are you saying they don’t? :-/ Oh, and you really must slow down with this writing malarkey you know – you are catching up with me 😉

Leave a Reply

