Proof of Life

In light of my recent post about fish-keeping, I thought I should give you an update on the health of our aquarium inhabitants. I was feeling very excited about being able to report back that all fish are alive and doing well. Which, as a matter of fact, is true. All five fish are still swimming. Quickly. And . . . they’ve even had babies.

Our new fish are of the Platy variety which means they are live-bearers, so the babies have appeared fully formed. Which obviously makes them very tasty, because the parents have eaten all but six of the fry. Well, we were aware it could happen, but thought it best to let nature take its course. Only the strong survive.

Anyway, as proof of life, I took this little video a few days ago.

 

 

Lovely, eh? It’s very relaxing to watch them. Or, at least, it was. You see, since taking the video, things have changed. No, the fish are still alive, it’s just that it’s getting harder and harder to see them. The water in the aquarium has grown greener by the day until we have this . . .

 

 

And I had to get very close to the tank to record that otherwise all you’d see was me, filming, reflected in the murky green soup.

I know, you’re going to say ‘overfeeding’ or ‘water changes’ or ‘Green Water Control’ but . . . well, I’ve tried it all. They hardly get fed at all now, so it can’t be that. I’ve done loads of water changes, (which I’ve since learned can mean adding more and more nutrients to the water and so making it even worse), so I’m pretty sure it isn’t that. I’ve tried adding chemicals – not bleach, though, something else called Green Water Control which I put in one evening, as directed and came down the next morning  expecting crystal clear water but . .  no.

So for now it looks as though we’re stuck with an expensive green box in the corner of the room. Nice.

 

That’s all.

7 thoughts on “Proof of Life

  1. Oh, why is this so funny? But it is! You have invisible fish eating fish – ha ha! And was that you clucking at them in the vid? Oh I bet it was 😀 I will be on tenterhooks until your next fishy update!

  2. Is there tank near a window or in sunlight? That will affect algae content. Try putting it in a dark corner.

    Keeping fish is pure heartache and frustration. If you’re not careful it becomes a money pit. I went down the route of internal filtration systems, external filtration systems, bio-filtration systems, anti-algae, anti-finrot, anti-white spot… less food, more food, fresh food, frozen food… and still the little buggers would die. There was one fish who spent his last few months swimming upside down, poor thing. Apparently a bacterial infection which affects the swim bladder and never recovers.

    Nah, forget fish. However, if you like, I have a couple of terrapins which are very hardy if you want to take them off my hands.

    please?

    • It could be sunlight, it’s in a very light room, but there needs to be enough nutrients in the water to feed the algae and it’s so bloody green in there I’m surprised it hasn’t eaten itself out of a food source. The fish don’t seem very bothered by it, which is good. It just looks horrible.

  3. Keeping fish is actually very fun and enjoying and certainly not a money pit. But, as far as your green water problem which I’ve dealt with in the past before. I’ve either covered the tank for several days to allow the algae to completely die off (which means any plants I had in the tank were at risk of dying). Or I’ve completely drained and cleaned the tank and started over i.e. cleaning and sterilizing gravel, filter components, ornaments etc. It’s drastic. But sometimes drastic steps must be taken. Now I did have a 30gallon turn pea soup green and I had left it alone only to find it cleared out all on it’s own a week or so later.

    Those chemicals work on real light cases of green water so in this case it’s just a waste of time. Limiting the amount of light also helps I’ve found. Takes longer to get results and the plants wont be totally harmed.

    • I was thinking I might leave it a while and see if it goes on its own accord, so that’s reassuring advice, thanks, Jon. I’ll give it a few more days and if there’s no change, I’ll try putting something over the tank for a couple of days. I know that limiting the light is one plan of attack but I was hoping to save the plants. Mind you, it’s worth a try if it means avoiding a complete clean out!

Leave a Reply

