Editing, Slacking, and a Great Review for Dark Horizons

Is it really eight days since I last posted? Wow, seems like I’m getting slack.

Actually, what I’ve been doing is finishing a novel. Well, I say ‘finishing’, but  . . . y’know. What I’ve been doing is editing, and now I’ve printed it out and I’m about to read it through. I always find it helps to see it on paper – it looks different somehow. Words on a page look different from words on a screen. They look better. Maybe that’s why I haven’t succumbed to the whole ereader thing yet. I still like to have real books that ‘feel’ and ‘smell’ – a book that I can put a bookmark into, one that I can leave by the bedside, or flick through, or leaf back to the last chapter, or enjoy the full colour cover, or ask the author to sign or . . . well, I’m digressing.

Anyway, the book I’ve just finished is not contracted. It may never be contracted. It may never even be published, though I hope it will be. I wrote it so that my daughter could read a book I’ve written – she’s still a little young to read my published novels so I wrote this one for her.

On another note, I’ve had the final(ish) cover image for THE CHILD THIEF and it’s looking great. Really great. I can’t wait to see it with printed pages between those evocative images. I wish I could put the cover image up here for all to see, but it’s not yet finalised completely so it’ll be a while longer before I can do that.

In the meantime, if you’re looking for something to read and you haven’t yet read DARK HORIZONS, why not give it a go? It’s available in harback, trade paperback and, you guessed it, ebook format. Yay! Get your copy now.

And if that doesn’t persuade you, why not check out this great review of DARK HORIZONS on the blog of YA author Emma Pass.

3 thoughts on “Editing, Slacking, and a Great Review for Dark Horizons

  1. Thanks for the shout-out, Dan, I’m really glad you liked the review. And I know what you mean about printing manuscripts out – things always seem to jump out at me once they’re on paper, whereas on a screen, it’s easy to miss stuff.

    I’m intrigued by the new novel – hope it does get published!

Leave a Reply

