Author Event Hartlepool

There’s always a niggle. Right there, at the back of my mind. It’s these author events, see. I enjoy doing them; I love talking about my books and I especially enjoy the Q&A that comes afterwards – it’s great to have the opportunity to interact with readers. But before it starts, there’s always the niggling worry that no one’s going to turn up and then I’d feel all unwanted and dejected.

It’s happened before.

However, on this occasion all was good. People came. They listened. They smiled when I joked. They asked great questions. They even bought books . . . which will make my publisher happy.

So thank you to Denise and everyone at Hartlepool library who organised the event, and thanks to all those who came along. I had a great time.

I even had the miracle of sat-nav to help me find my way home. There was a moment when I thought the technology had let me down, but then it did its job and led me safely past the place where HMS Trincomalee is moored and on to home. Actually, I was tempted to jump out and take a few pictures of the ship – a navy leda-class sailing frigate – but it was getting late and maybe it’s somewhere to take the children during the summer holiday. God knows those long, balmy days (uh-huh) are going to need filling.





Leave a Reply

