Best First Novel Award – Aw shucks.

I didn’t win the Authors’ Club Best First Novel award. It would have been great to win, but being shortlisted is the next best thing, right?

Anyway, I had a good time in Laahnd’n. The Authors’ Club get-together was a pleasant gathering and I met a few new interesting people. Some of them even told me how much they loved Dry Season – and there’s nothing quite like being told how great your book is. Generally, I spend my time closeted in near-darkness in front of the compter stressing over whether this sentence is just right or if this bit’s overwritten or that bit’s boring, so it’s always a pleasure to hear that someone has enjoyed my efforts. Hey, a few people said they’ve pre-ordered Dark Horizons which is the next Dan Smith to hit the shelves on . . . 26th May 2011. Not long now.

In the meantime, I’m in the process of arranging some library visists – to talk, that is, rather than to borrow books – so I’ll let you know the dates when they’re finalised.

Leave a Reply

