Truly, their grit is true

I have an image in my head of a film I saw many many years ago. Actually, I have two images. The first is of a young girl standing by a river. She has great determination in her expression, a hint of fear, and in her hands she holds a Colt dragoon percussion revolver. When she finds the courage to shoot it at the man she intends to kill, the recoil knocks her off her feet. The other image is of an eye-patched, pot bellied bear of a man with horse’s reins in his bared teeth, a pistol in one hand and a rifle in the other as he rushes headlong into the fray, head ringed by the smoke from his weapons.

The film is, of course ‘True Grit‘. Now, I never was a big fan of John Wayne and although I love a good western, The Searchers was the only one of his that really did it for me. But now the Coen brothers have made a new version. Not a remake of the film, but another version based on the novel by Charles Portiss.

Jeff bridges – The Dude himself – as Rooster Cogburn. Matt Damon as LaBoeuf. Josh Brolin as Chaney. The brilliant Hailee Steinfeld as Mattie Ross.

So I went to see it yesterday and can recommend it. They even recreated those scenes I remember so vividly from the John Wayne version but, for me, they’re even better this time around.

The scenery was amazing, the acting great, the story’s a classic and there’s even a man in a full bear outfit. Yep, you heard right. A man in a bear outfit. What more could you possibly want?

Check out the website.

Leave a Reply

