Marathon watching

Went to watch the start of the Great North Run yesterday. For anyone who doesn’t know, it’s the biggest half marathon in the world. Something like 54,000 people running. That’s a lot of sweat. My brother and his wife were running, and we managed to spot them crossing the Tyne Bridge, BEFORE they started sweating and grunting … which is a good thing. I’m not a runner, oh no, and the stories I’ve now heard about the various places that can chafe – and we’re talking dark places – I’m not sure it’s ever gonna be my thing. All I can tell you is it involves sticking plasters, Vaseline, and a whole lot of places on my brother’s body I don’t even want to think about. Anyway, it was inspiring to see so many people running, walking, yomping, bouncing, wheeling and lolloping for so many good causes. Well done everybody. And I was very proud to see Mike and Clare out there running and raising a lot of money.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

